Student Voice


May 20, 2024


Light Drizzle

Letter to the editor

Political science department pleased with program participants

April 21, 2010

The UW-River Falls political science department and the International Relations Club hosted the 34th Annual Arrowhead Model United Nations Conference, April 15-18. 

More than 350 participants from 17 universities across the Midwest replicated the Security Council and the committees of the General Assembly, presenting and debating proposals about the world’s most pressing security, economic, social, and environmental issues. 

The sessions occurred at the University Center and the Best Western Hotel, and we were very impressed with the coordination and support of both the UWRF and hotel staff. 

Mandy Fuchs met with us multiple times about UC facilities, and helped us lay the foundation for a successful conference. 

Changmean Kim, event manager, and Elise Reinemann were readily available and assisted us with technical and other support during the conference. 

Jerry Waller, Susan Ryan, and Gary Prellwitz provided food and beverages throughout the conference, including an amazing banquet, and Jamie Palm arranged additional meetings and wonderful meals at the Best Western Hotel. 

Jane Lubich supplied critically important assistance with the financial aspects of the conference, and Blake Fry gave us essential help chairing meetings of the General Assembly. 

We were also delighted to have Verena Nowotny, spokesperson for the Austrian diplomatic mission to the United Nations Security Council, provide the keynote address (participants gave her two standing ovations). 

Many others also provided helpful advice, assistance, and support, including, but not limited, to the UWRF Allocable Fee Board, and the CAS Dean’s Office. 

We have lost track of the many compliments that participants gave us about the staff and its service.

On behalf of the Arrowhead Model United Nations Association, we would like to express our deepest appreciation to the many people who helped to make this conference a success.

Wes Chapin
Professor of Political Science

Joan Kratt
Political Science Department