Student Voice


January 28, 2023


UW–River Falls College of Business and Economics recognizes student achievement

May 5, 2012

The UW-River Falls College of Business and Economics recognized 45 students for their exemplary achievements and awarded more than $35,600 in scholarships at its annual awards program April 23. UWRF Chancellor Dean Van Galen delivered a welcome and Dean of the College of Business and Economics Glenn Potts presided.

“The honors and awards celebration for the College of Business and Economics allows us to recognize outstanding achievement of our students,” Potts said. “The scholarship awards are made as a result of gifts from loyal alumni and friends of the University. With rising tuition and falling state support of the University, these gifts are becoming critically important for our hard working students.”

During the awards program, UWRF students Trevor Daly, Micheal Larson and Dustin Schwingle were recognized for achieving summa cum laude commencement honors; Christina Bergren, Elizabeth Franzen, Cole Langsdorf, Dennis Mulvihill, Benjamin Peltier, Kelsey Scheele and Jennifer Windsperger were recognized for magna cum laude commencement honors; Alexandra Alieva, Ashley Engh, Kathryn Keatley, Greg Klingelhutz, Jessica Roberts, Aaron Seipel and Jason Yuel were recognized for cum laude commencement honors. Micheal Larson received the Rochelle Junkman Seymour Award, recognizing the highest cumulative grade point average while Jason Yuel and Kathryn Keatley received the Gilbert N. Smith Award, recognizing the highest cumulative grade point average among economics majors. Christopher Post and Zachary Rossow received Excellence Awards for Military Science Leadership and Greg Klingelhutz and Jason Yuel were recognized for being named the 2011 WIAC Football Scholar Athlete and the 2012 NCHA Men’s Hockey Co-Scholar Athlete, respectively.

The following 35 students were inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma: Samuel Abair, Danielle Ailts Campeau, Robert Amundson, Jonathan Bindert, Blake Bonine, Carlin Bunting, Chad Cadwell, Paul Dalbec, Brittani Ebler, Karina Eck, Liyuan Feng, Jacob Feyereisen, Joseph Fischer, Autumn Folsom, Nicholas Hamble, Tyler Hanson, Scott Jensen, Sierra Johnson, Mengying Kang, Kathryn Keatley, Laura Kropp, Callie Langenhorst, Victoria McLachlan, Jenna Mettler, Sara Nichols, Kate Olson, Wanda Perley, Kelsey Peterson, Adrian Potting, Aaron Seipel, Geoffrey Shewmake, Zachary Smith, Carissa Sue Stites, Kollie Teigen and Jennifer Windsperger. Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive in a business program accredited by AACSB International. Scholarship recipients included: Isaac Alzen, Rachael Barbacovi, Luke Barber, Amanda Buchanan, Paul Dalbec, Liyuan Feng, Caitlin Finn, Rachel Happe, Nathanial Howard, John Hunchar, Sierra Johnson, Lindsey Kaiser, Mengying Kang, Callie Langenhorst, Casey Mayton, Erin McNeil, Abigail Mediger, David Moteelall, Michael Nielsen, Nicholas Peterson, Brittney Pfenning-Wendt, Robert Rhoads, Mary Riess, Zachary Rossow, Carissa Stites, Kollie Teigen, Jennifer Van Tassel and Carrie Vanasse.