Student Voice


March 24, 2023



Bobbi O’Brien elected Student Senate president

April 6, 2012

The Student Senate election results have been released and have resulted in new leadership.

Bobbi O’Brien was elected Senate president with her running mate Carlan Strand receiving the Senate vice presidential position. Strand is the current vice president as well.

O’Brien defeated Samuel Tauchen with 52 percent of the votes.

Brandon Scharping was elected to the College of Agricultural, Food and Enviornmental Sciences (CAFES) representative position with 86 votes, Grady Nelson to the College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) representative position with 65 votes, Dominic Riel to the College of Business and Economics (CBE) representative seat with 23 votes, and Hannah Klingfus to the College of Education and Professional Studies (CEPS) representative position with 35 votes. Elliott Kann was elected to the position of nontraditional representative with 147 votes.

At-large senators include Tauchen, Riley Haynes, Hannah Carlson, Asher Heer, Matthew Hobbs, Amy Graham, Derek Jonson and Kayla Edstrom. The new Senate will begin on April 24.

Incumbent president, Tyler Halverson, did not seek reelection due to his graduation in May.


Disappointed on 20 Apr 2012: I disagree with you Mr. Mike, I think Mr. Halverson came up a bit short (no) pun intended. wink

Mike on 07 Apr 2012: A big thanks to Tyler Halverrson for all he has done In his time as President. O'Brien has big shoes to fill.